Intelligent technologies in higher education

Published on

At Austrian universities teaching and learning environments rapidly evolved since at least the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic. Teaching and learning was converted online and is currently held mostly hybrid. The use of artificial intelligence is supposed to support students in optimizing their learning behavior to better manage their studies. However, ethical and data protection principles must be considered as well.

Learning Analytics Dashboard supports students

For the project “Learning Analytics – Studierende im Fokus“, an interdisciplinary research team of the Graz University of Technology, University of Graz, and the University of Vienna focus on developing learning analytics applications that leverage students academic success. The researchers took a human-centred Learning Analytics design approach involving students, instructors and other stakeholders in the iterative process of developing and evaluating the applications. The Learner’s Corner is the new dashboard for students at the TUGraz learning management system, which showcase the developed LA applications. The Learner’s Corner dashboard helps students prepare for their courses, keep track of their progress, and reflect on their learning processes. In addition, they provide exciting features for lecturers and facilitate interactions with students. The dashboard is currently being evaluated in a few selected courses and will be offered as a LA service to the whole students’ community in the near future.

Students as data providers?

Researchers from the University of Graz, Graz University of Technology and Know-Center published a short paper on the following topic as part of the project: “Learning Analytics as a Service for Empowered Learners“. They addressed the ethical and legal concerns related to learning analytics and the application of educational data for higher education institutions in particular. In the future, for example, how can ‘LA’ be seen as a service rather than an intrusion when it comes to the unsolicited use of students’ personal data? The paper was nominated for the “Best Short Paper Award” at the Learning Analytics & Knowledge Conference 2021.

 

Read the paper

About the project

 

Mehr zum Thema

Mehr zum Thema

No items found

Angebote Know-Center

Stellenangebote

Intelligente Technologien in der Hochschulbildung

Veröffentlicht am:

Die Lehr- und Lernumgebungen an österreichischen Hochschulen entwickelten sich spätestens nach dem Ausbruch der Covid-19 Pandemie rasant weiter. Das Lehren und Lernen wurde auf online umgestellt und findet auch aktuell meist in gemischten Formaten statt. Mit dem Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz will man Studierende unterstützen, ihr Lernverhalten zu optimieren, um ihr Studium besser bewältigen zu können. Dazu gilt es aber auch ethische und datenschutzrechtliche Grundsätze zu berücksichtigen.

Learning-Analytics Dashboard unterstützt Studierende

Im Rahmen des Projekts „Learning Analytics – Studierende im Fokus“ konzentriert sich ein interdisziplinäres Forschungsteam der Technischen Universität Graz, der Universität Graz und der Universität Wien auf die Entwicklung von Learning-Analytics-Anwendungen, die den akademischen Erfolg von Studierenden fördern. Die ForscherInnen verfolgten einen menschenzentrierten Learning Analytics Design-Ansatz, der Studierende, Lehrende und andere Stakeholder in den iterativen Prozess der Entwicklung und Evaluierung der Anwendungen einbezieht. Der „Learner’s Corner“ ist das neue Dashboard für Studierende im Lernmanagementsystem der TU Graz, in dem die entwickelten Anwendungen präsentiert werden. Das Dashboard hilft den Studierenden, sich auf ihre Kurse vorzubereiten, ihre Fortschritte zu verfolgen und ihre Lernprozesse zu reflektieren. Darüber hinaus bietet es spannende Features für Lehrende und erleichtert die Interaktion mit den Studierenden. Das Dashboard wird derzeit in einigen ausgewählten Kursen evaluiert und soll in naher Zukunft als Dienst für die gesamte Studentengemeinschaft angeboten werden.

Studierende als Datenlieferanten?!

Im Rahmen des Projektes veröffentlichten Forscherinnen und Forscher der Universität Graz, der TU Graz und des Know-Centers ein Short Paper zum Thema: “Learning Analytics as a Service for Empowered Learners”. Speziell setzten sie sich mit den ethischen und rechtlichen Bedenken im Zusammenhang mit Learning Analytics und der Nutzung von Bildungsdaten für Hochschulen auseinander. Wie kann zum Beispiel zukünftig LA als Dienstleistung und nicht als Eingriff in die ungefragte Verwendung persönlicher Daten von Studierenden gesehen werden? Das Paper wurde auf der Learning Analytics & Knowledge Conference 2021 für den „Best Short Paper Award“ nominiert.

Zum Paper

Über das Projekt

Mehr zum Thema

No items found

Angebote Know-Center

Stellenangebote

Mehr zum Thema